Lorem Ipsm Dolor

Ohio Minimal Wage Legal guidelines defined For Small Companies


Yearly, Ohio’s minimal wage rises based mostly on inflation. With each minimal wage enhance, small enterprise homeowners want to ensure their payroll is updated and compliant in addition to accounting for elevated labor prices of their price range. 

Unintentionally paying your individuals the improper wage can depart your small business open to expensive fines and lawsuits — and also you’ll threat dissatisfied workers and a foul fame.

Our final information will let you know all the things you could learn about Ohio minimal wage 2024. We’ll present you the way to keep on prime of minimal wage modifications so you may keep away from nasty surprises and really feel assured you’re paying your individuals correctly. 



Understanding Ohio minimal wage for tipped and non-tipped workers 

Based on the Ohio Division of Commerce, the present minimal wage throughout Ohio for non-tipped workers is $10.45 per hour, as of January 1, 2024. That’s an $0.35 enhance from 2023’s minimal wage price. The minimal wage applies to workers of companies with annual gross receipts of greater than $385,000 per yr.

It is a little completely different for “tipped workers” — labeled as employees who often earn greater than $30 per thirty days in ideas, like servers, bartenders, and hairdressers. The minimal hourly wage for tipped employees in Ohio is $5.25 in 2024 (up from $5.05 final yr).

Although tipped workers will be paid a decrease money wage, employers must be sure that their employees’ ideas and base pay add as much as an hourly common of at the least $10.45 throughout the pay interval. If not, employers are chargeable for topping up their paycheck. 

Meaning it’s additional essential for small enterprise homeowners in service or different tipped industries to maintain observe of ideas in addition to wages. Payroll instruments like Homebase could make the method easy with tip scarcity calculation capabilities that routinely complement employees’ wages after they fall quick on ideas. 

Exceptions to Ohio minimal wage 2024 

All companies with gross receipts of over $385,000 per yr should pay Ohio’s minimal wage. Nevertheless, SMBs who make much less have an exemption below Ohio legislation: they’ll pay the present federal minimal wage of $7.25 per hour as an alternative. 

There are additionally exemptions for various classes of workers. 

Some key exemptions embrace: 

  • Staff below the age of 16



  • Individuals employed as babysitters or live-in companions, if their duties are carried out within the employer’s residence and don’t embrace housekeeping



  • Employees inside family-owned and operated companies who’re members of the family of the proprietor



  • Individuals who voluntarily present charitable companies in hospitals or well being establishments without cost



  • Workers at kids’s camps or leisure areas which are run by non-profit organizations

A sub-minimum wage price may additionally be paid in instances the place this can keep away from hardship and lack of employment alternatives for these with psychological or bodily disabilities, however this should adjust to the laws of the Director of the Ohio Division of Commerce

Minimal wage modifications

On January 1, 2024, Ohio’s minimal wage elevated to $10.45 hourly for non-tipped workers and $5.25 per hour for tipped workers, based on the Ohio Division of Commerce.

The exemption threshold for companies may also be increased: the brand new minimal wage solely applies to workers of corporations who gross greater than $385,000 per yr.  

The legislation behind this pay enhance is a 2006 Constitutional Modification in Ohio that ties the state minimal wage to the Shopper Worth Index for the earlier yr. That signifies that wages rise yearly based mostly on inflation.

There are additionally initiatives in sure cities in Ohio encouraging employers to pay wages increased than the present minimal. For instance, the Metropolis of Cleveland has partnered with One Honest Wage to supply sure companies, like eating places and occasional outlets, a grant to pay their workers extra.

Extra time pay necessities 

On prime of the bottom minimal wage, Ohio employers should pay time beyond regulation — at 1.5 occasions the common hourly price — to workers for any hours over 40 they work in a single week.

There’s an exception to this for companies with lower than $150,000 in gross receipts. 

As all small companies know, time beyond regulation prices can creep up quickly — particularly if your organization depends on shift work. 

Let’s say your restaurant rosters workers on a 2-2-3 schedule, the place some weeks, groups will work 5 12-hour shifts in every week. 

That’s a complete of 60 hours labored within the week (5 days x 12 hours every day). 

The primary 40 hours are paid on the common price of $10.45 per hour, totaling $418.00. However the remaining 20 hours are calculated at time-and-a-half, which quantities to $15.67 per hour in Ohio. You’ll find yourself paying $313.50 in time beyond regulation, and $731.50 for this 40-hour week. 

To keep away from mounting prices, you’ll need to both take a special method to worker scheduling or plan for these labor prices

In addition to deliberate shift work, small enterprise homeowners want to remain on prime of surprising time beyond regulation prices as a consequence of last-minute schedule modifications or cowl.

overtime settings homebaseovertime settings homebase

Posting & Recordkeeping Necessities

Along with paying the authorized minimal and time beyond regulation wages, Ohio employers should adjust to particular posting and recordkeeping guidelines. 

At every office or job web site, companies are required to show the newest official Ohio Minimal Wage poster revealed by the Ohio Division of Commerce’s Division of Industrial Compliance — this modifications every year with updates to the minimal wage.

Employers should additionally maintain clear payroll data for at the least three years, exhibiting the title, tackle, occupation, and price of pay for every particular person worker, in addition to a full file of their hours labored per day and week and the way a lot they have been paid for every pay interval. 

Failing to fulfill these documentation requirements can set off fines and investigations, so it’s essential that small companies select the precise system to maintain observe of payroll

Tricks to adjust to Ohio minimal wage 

Staying compliant with evolving Ohio labor legal guidelines and minimal wage guidelines takes effort as a small enterprise proprietor. However non-compliance means risking monetary penalties, lawsuits, harm to your fame, and dissatisfied workers. 

Right here’s the way to keep away from violations and make minimal wage compliance a precedence: 

  • On the finish of the yr, notice new minimal wage charges that can come into impact in January. Set calendar reminders so that you don’t overlook. 

  • Obtain and submit the most recent official Ohio Minimal Wage poster earlier than January 1 every year to obviously talk authorized charges to workers — and adjust to the legislation.

  • Earlier than minimal wage will increase take impact, replace your payroll programs, timekeeping instruments, and accounting software program. Instruments like Homebase can warn you when there’s a change and routinely replace your payroll based mostly on related labor legal guidelines. 

  • Assessment all workers classifications to be sure to’re accurately making use of minimal wage charges based mostly on elements like worker age, tipped standing, and hours labored.

  • Preserve thorough payroll data exhibiting hours labored, price of pay, and time beyond regulation earnings for each worker as proof of compliance.

  • In addition to monitoring hours, observe ideas earned by servers, hosts, hair stylists, and different tipped workers. Guarantee their ideas reliably mix with decrease base pay to fulfill or exceed the complete minimal wage.

Really feel assured you’re compliant with Homebase

A screenshot of the payroll feature on Homebase.A screenshot of the payroll feature on Homebase.

Managing minimal wage can get difficult with so many modifications at play. For small enterprise homeowners who’re already time-stretched, staying on prime of all of the completely different laws can really feel overwhelming. 

However you don’t should go it alone. Homebase helps small companies like yours simplify payroll and compliance.

Right here’s how: 

Computerized payroll calculations: Homebase calculates hours, breaks, time beyond regulation, and PTO when your workers clock in and clock out. That each one will get synced with payroll that will help you keep away from errors.

Detailed data: Homebase tracks hours labored, pay charges, and time beyond regulation particulars for each worker. Detailed wage statements present safety in case of an audit or lawsuit.

Proactive compliance alerts: Homebase sends well timed notifications of upcoming minimal wage and regulation modifications so that you all the time keep present — and when you’ve got any questions, you may discuss to an HR professional to straighten issues out. 

With Homebase as your payroll and compliance accomplice, you may really feel certain you’re paying your individuals pretty and precisely. 

Leave a Comment

Refund Reason